Guest Reviews

Read our guest reviews about Villa La Sorpresa

Jeremy, Beverley, Elizabeth, friends and family – UK
27th July – 24th August 2019

We have just returned from a magical four week stay at La Sorpresa. In our opinion, this villa is truly the jewel in the crown of El Madroñal! It is a supremely luxurious property which is both extremely spacious but also manages to maintain a certain cosiness. From the moment we opened the front door and had our breath taken away by that stunning view, we were captivated! The villa has been designed so that every guest is treated to luxurious and spacious accommodation and every tiny detail is top quality and has been expertly and lovingly conceived.We arrived to a beautiful hamper which even included a generous amount of treats for our dog. She was delighted! The beds are insanely comfortable and we loved the bathroom sensors that activated discreet floor level lighting without the need to flood the room with harsh light in the middle of the night. All the bathroom fittings were of the highest specification and the owners had even equipped each one with luxurious bath salts, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body milk. Each of the main bedrooms has its own private terrace or veranda and the guest sitting room and hidden kitchen are a genius idea that allowed our guests their privacy and independence. The master suite, which maintains complete privacy on a separate floor to the guest bedrooms, was absolutely stunning with a cavernous dressing room and the most beautiful bathroom with huge shower cubicle and free-standing bath overlooking that fabulous view.
The villa goes on and on! There are two sitting rooms, one with a wraparound sofa and an enormous TV in an open plan area opposite the kitchen and dining area and one smaller, cosy one opposite an exquisite brick-built bodega which was stocked with a selection of enjoyable wines available to purchase.
As I’ve already said, the detail in this villa is second to none: For example, in the sitting room opposite the bodega, handmade glass star lanterns hang delicately from the ceiling whilst in the bodega directly opposite, the ceiling spot lights are set into star-shaped carvings in the domed ceiling: just perfect attention to detail! Doors open against magnets to hold them gently in place and it seemed that every drawer was lined in a non-slip rubberised material to keep the contents from sliding around. I was absolutely in my element here!
The kitchen was fabulous; every conceivable item was organised into drawers which was so much easier than trying to see into high cupboards and the ovens, microwave and dishwasher were top spec. The utility room was also very well organised and beautifully laid out; the fridge even has a built-in drinks cabinet! Behind the utility room is a massive laundry room with a portable clothing rail, fabulous iron and ironing board. I don’t usually get excited about an iron but this one was so good, I actually did some ironing! I KNOW!
We even made use of the gorgeous office during our stay, above which is yet another lovely bedroom.
The floor throughout the villa is a velvety micro cement which felt luxurious underfoot. Furthermore, the owners have installed an underfloor cooling system so the floor always felt wonderfully cool – our dog absolutely LOVED it!
Outside, the delight continues: The dark tiled infinity edge pool reflects the lovely pine trees which stand in front of it and the gorgeous view beyond. It is 13m long so provides enough space for proper swimming and can be covered overnight. The patio area is very spacious and includes a covered area with seating and a large dining area at the far end.
The gardens were a steep but very welcome area for us to exercise our dog in the mornings and evenings and she loved them!
Finally, the games room and gym was enjoyed by us all and one of our guests also used and loved the steam room.

I must also mention the property management company for whom nothing was too much trouble. Their services were simply superb! They even organised a wonderful babysitter for our teenage daughter. The cleaners they supplied were fabulous; always utterly fastidious, efficient and very friendly. If only we could have them at home!
We feel privileged to have had the opportunity of holidaying in this exquisite property and are grateful to Mike and Brenda for allowing us to enjoy their incredible home.

Sandor, Yvette, Laszlo and Nora
20th June – 6th July 2019

We had an absolutely great time.

The villa was fantastic!

Lydia
17th – 24th May 2019

Just to say that once again we had a wonderful holiday at Villa La Sorpresa. The villa was just perfect in every way and was immaculate for our arrival. Swimming in the pool looking out at the view was just an amazing way to start the day.
We love how we are away from busy Puerto Banus so we can enjoy the quiet but then when we want to experience a bit more buzz we are only a short drive away. Julia the villa manager is a lovely person and overall the holiday was first class.  We will be back next year but for longer as one week is definitely not long enough in this stunning villa.

Fran, Che, Tam, Chelsea, Kelly and Tom
27th September – 3rd October 2018

Fran

Villa La Sorpresa – The Surprise, on arrival my immediate reaction was “hello paradise” opening the front door to an endless view was the surprise for me – a view you could never get bored of. The house is well equipped with anything and everything you could need for your stay. I was a frequent visitor to the steam room and heated pool. Each bedroom has a feeling of serenity and privacy all having their own ensuite bathrooms and plenty of space to settle into – with comfortable beds and the best pillows I have ever slept on. The kitchen is a cooking lover’s dream, spacious and the high tech equipment make for easy meals throughout.

Even settling in for a quite evening is an experience with a large smart TV, Netflix included the choice is endless, and the surround sound system makes you feel like you’re in the cinema except with more comfort! If you fancy a trip into town and exploring what Marbella has to offer it’s an easy drive, however if you haven’t rented a car or you’re having a few drinks the taxi service is quick reliable and inexpensive. Truly a home away from home. I would highly recommend arranging for a private chef, amazing food and an evening off of cooking what could be better! Five stars from me *****

Chel
I had the most incredible experience at Villa la Sorpresa. The Villa itself is luxurious and the views are absolutely breath taking. I was in need of a relaxing break and I certainly got one. Thank you to the hosts for a wonderful experience…I will definitely be back.

Tam
We had a magical week at Villa la Sorpresa. The villa has a stunning rim flow pool overlooking breath taking  sea and mounted views of the Costa del Sol. We loved the house. We could even have a yoga lesson in the gym overlooking the valley. The owners have thought of everything. It has all the amenities you may need to relax and feel comfortable. The hosts organised a private chef to cook an amazing dinner. Staying at the villa was a holiday to treasure for ever. I hope to be back soon.

Chelsea
Such a beautiful Villa with such welcoming hosts. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the Spanish Sun! The house felt luxurious and inviting, with fantastic amenities, including a wonderful swimming pool,   gym and steam room. I will enjoy this holiday forever!

Kelly
Villa La Sorpresa, what a surprise indeed! We had the most relaxing, wonderful and luxurious four days in what can only be described as paradise! Everything from the comfortable beds, spacious bedrooms, well equipped kitchen, heated pool to the gym and steam room was simply perfect. A reliable taxi service was just a phone call away to take us for a short ride into the centre of Marbella to visit the beach, Old Town and plenty of restaurants. We couldn’t have asked for a better getaway and I can’t wait to visit again.

Tom
I escaped to this beautiful Spanish Villa for a long weekend. From the instant I walked into the reception area and was met with the breath taking view of the bay through the huge window I knew my stay was going to be bliss. I spent hours laying in the suntrap by the pool which is heated perfectly and the absence of chlorine meant I spent most of the time in there, not to mention the gym area with the steam room! The decor in the house is phenomenal, everything is done in such a way that it seems cosy and casual for such a large space. The amount of thought that has gone behind the set up means that the villa really does seem like a home from home. I felt like I wanted for nothing throughout my entire stay and it was the perfect week to stop, recharge, relax, make memories and catch up with close friends.

Cindy, Christian, Georgina and Luke
6th August -13th August 2018 – USA

Our stay at La Sorpresa made for a wonderful week of relaxation, exploration, excellent dining and culture for our family of four. The house is beautifully decorated and immaculate, with views to the Mediterranean. The skies were cloudless for the entire week, as we split our time between relaxing at the pool and going in search of adventure.
One aspect that really sets this house apart was the excellent service from Fay Wallis, the concierge. Even during peak season we were able to set up a boat charter, private chef service, beach club reservations – all with one phone call or email. With Fay’s help we were able to sit back, relax and drink Cava on the terrace as Chef Bruno prepared wonderful meals for us in the evening. When the younger crowd wanted to head into Puerto Banús for the evening, Fay organized the car service to pick them up and drop them off. We enjoyed wonderful dinners out in restaurants favoured by the locals at Fay’s recommendation. It was lovely to be away from the crowds for quiet relaxation and views but be close enough to get to Marbella’s old town for afternoon tapas at El Estrecho or a day at a swanky beach club. It was also close enough to spend a full day in Granada, where we toured the most beautiful example of Moorish architecture in Spain, the Alhambra Palace. In the house, all of the beds were comfortable and the kitchen was equipped better than any other rental we have seen, with luxury appliances, extra refrigerator, china to host beautiful dinner parties if desired, and a lovely welcome basket. At La Sorpresa there is service to meet every need which means that you can truly spend your time relaxing and making family memories. The fascinating history, the sunshine and beautiful Mediterranean water, the fine food and wines of southern Spain make it a perfect destination for all ages. Last but not least, the owner Brenda was extremely responsive and took a genuine interest in making sure our stay was perfect in every way!

Michael B.
July 28, 2018

10/10

IMPRESSIVE
Everything was outstanding

Robert and Jan
27th of July to the 6th of August  2018 – UK

Having been a villa owner we felt that the villa was of a very high standard with everything catered for. We couldn’t have been more comfortable and with 4 30 plus year olds with us they jointly thought it was wonderful. The only grumble (very minor) was occasional noise from neighbours and barking dog.

We ate out most nights and enjoyed the colourful atmosphere of Puerto Banus. Taxis from Benahavís and PB operated efficiently. Dutch deli and butcher in La Heredia wonderful and the restaurant there ( Casa Mia) extremely good with very attentive staff and delightful owner. Thank you again for providing 10 days of sheer enjoyment.

Gen
17th of July to the 26th of July 2018

Villa La Sorpresa is superb ! It encompasses a wonderful design, excellent architecture, impeccable construction and finishes. The whole villa flows together seamlessly in the essence of elegance. The appointment is faultless everywhere and the kitchen is functional, and imminently practical. A special feature of the kitchen are the magnificent views, encompassing 280 degrees.

The outdoor living area, boasting a splendid pool and dining area, is all holiday makers, from oldest to youngest, can desire. And the views! Oh my word; all the way to the sea and the coastline of Marbella. Downstairs, the well-equipped sauna and spacious gym, added another “Surprise” element of enjoyment. The owners have, in subtle taste, incorporated discerning examples of splendid art and colourful, delightful beaded animals. Yet nothing is obtrusive. Finally, the welcome basket of “goodies” and the little special treats like chocolate and sherry in the bedrooms, added a final “touch of class”. The magnificent historic town of Ronda is just a 40 minute drive away and a visit to Marbella old Town is a must. I recommend this destination with pleasure and confidence.

Michael and family
1st of July to the 16th of July  2018 – USA

We were very happy with our stay. In short, everything was outstanding.

Lydia
3rd to the 10th of June 2018 – UK

We had a fantastic time at the Villa and everything was perfect. The villa was beautiful and we really couldn’t fault a thing. The girl Julia that met us at the Villa was so lovely and helpful – she is a credit to the company. She explained everything in detail and really made us feel welcome. We intend booking the villa again next year and will recommend your company to all our family and friends.

8 American guests
We absolutely loved the villa. It was beautiful, clean, comfortable and luxurious at the same time. The attention to detail in making the villa inviting was impeccable. Everything we needed was at our fingertips.

Chris G.
April 17, 2018

10/10

Amazing villa
We absolutely loved the villa. It was beautiful, clean, comfortable and luxurious at the same time. The attention to detail in making the villa inviting was impeccable. Everything we needed was at our fingertips.

Mykola
8th July 2017 to 22nd July 2017

Many thanks to the owners of the Villa La Sorpresa and your team for a great time at that villa. The villa is absolutely great: pleasant, modern, comfortable. We loved the time we spent there.

Michelle, Lee and Family
27th May 2017 to 3rd June 2017

My partner and I stayed at Villa La Sorpresa with our two teenage daughters last week.

The villa is a beautiful place to stay and relax, we have never received such a warm welcome, where nothing we asked was too much trouble.
The interior design is truly amazing, creating such a calming space. The attention to detail throughout the villa is something else and all furniture is of a very high quality.
The outdoor space is fantastic with a great infinity pool overlooking stunning sea views.
All the kitchen appliances are state of the art and it was a joy to cook! We normally always dine out, but we made an exception here!
Our daughters enjoyed their own space with two lovely bedrooms and a great lounge space in-between for them to enjoy.
From our initial enquiry right through to our day of leaving, the owners and their staff made the whole process a pleasure.
I cannot recommend this villa highly enough – very impressed.
We will be returning as soon as we can!

Jackie & Nick
January 2017

We rented Villa La Sorpresa for a month in January 2017. This was the first time we had rented a villa in Spain & we were somewhat apprehensive but could not have been more wrong.

La Sorpresa has recently been completed & so has all the latest technologies & more importantly they all worked all of the time. The villa owners (who are delightful, very fair, open & straightforward) own the house & take a personal interest in the villa & whilst there is a professional villa manager we never had any reason to contact her. Security was an important consideration for us. We found the security systems around the house to be very easy to use & thoroughly thought through leaving us feeling secure at all times. We think the house has the best views on the coast but just as importantly for us was the way the house worked in practice. Whilst it is a sizeable house with plenty of accommodation when it was just the two of us in the house we lived on the ground floor & therefore never felt that we were rattling around but when we had family visiting they had their own lounge & TV’s but still had easy access to all the house. This is not just a large house; the space is very practical & well laid out. We would unreservedly recommend Villa La Sorpresa & will be renting the villa again in the near future!

James and Tracy along with family and friends
August 2016

A belated thank you for ensuring we had a wonderful stay at Villa La Sorpresa. We feel very privileged to have been the first guests to enjoy this beautiful villa. The Villa was way beyond anything we expected and I still can’t believe I found something so fantastic at such short notice. Real life has now kicked in for us but what a fabulous week we had. It couldn’t have been a more perfect place for us all. Happy memories to keep us going through the next few months. I am lost for words as to how to best describe Villa La Sorpresa It is so much more than a ‘Luxury Villa’. It far exceeds anything you will ever find in the rental market. The owners have thought of everything that you could possibly need and MORE. It tops the best 5 star hotels and yet remains a true home from home. Pure perfection for two families who want to enjoy the ‘buzz’ of nearby Puerto Banus but also relax and enjoy the peacefulness of the hills of Marbella. It doesn’t get better than this. We hope to return again and maybe make the most of the concierge services. For this trip though we just enjoyed the villa.

Scroll Up